GLITCHES OF WAR: GEARS OF WAR 2 REVIEW

I know this is going to be an unpopular review with a lot of people.  Some of my closest friends in the gaming community are very fond of this third-person shooter.  In fact, I bought my first XBOX after checking out the superb videos of Gears of War 3 on youtube.  Wanting to be ready for the September launch, I got myself the Gears of War Triple Pack — this included Gears of War, Gears of War 2, and a Multiplayer Pack for download.  

As I started playing Gears of War 1, I felt it was too glitchy and the graphics weren’t exactly something to be excited about.  Given that the game was released quite some time back, I gave it the benefit of doubt and moved on to the Gears of War 2 hoping the developer would redeem itself in the sequeal.  That was not to be.  In the end, this is what Gears of War 2 looks like — move ahead to kill Locusts (evil alien enemies), move ahead to kill Grunts (more evil alien enemies), then view a bit of the storyline, then repeat killing Locusts and Grunts in exactly the same fashion again.  Those of you used to playing games with a bit of storyline and diversity of campaigns will find Gears of War 2 a tad repetitive.

Another issue that really pestered me is the AI.  The enemies would follow exactly the same strategy to try and kill you.  So all you had to do if you got killed by a Locust was to make a note of where the enemy was hiding: so the next time, you can proactively shoot the hell out of it. It takes the fun out of killing for sure.

The last issue I found was the high amount of glitches.  Running from an enemy, you could suddenly find yourself hovering a few feet above the ground with no way to get down.  The only solution is to wait around to get killed or restart from your most recent checkpoint.

The good folks at IGN do not agree with my review above.  But then, they wrote it back in 2008 when the game was first released.  Read their review here.

Unlike books and movies, every game tends to improve with sequels.  I imagine Gears of War 3 will not disappoint.  Check out the E3 launch of Gears of War 3 that prompted me to go for the XBOX.

Leave a Reply

